Admission Without Examination
Persons who have been admitted to practice law before the court of last resort of a state or territory of the United States or of the District of Columbia for a minimum of five years, who have been admitted to the bar of a Reciprocal Jurisdiction, and who have been engaged in the practice of law on a full-time basis for at least three of the immediately preceding five years, may be eligible for admission to the Virginia Bar without examination. To determine if you qualify for admission without examination, refer to the Supreme Court of Virginia Rule 1A:1 and Regulations promulgated by the Supreme Court.
The Admission Without Examination filing fee is $1800 (increases to $2200 effective March 1, 2017). This fee covers the cost of processing the Application, investigating matters contained in the applicant's completed Character & Fitness Questionnaire, and preparing of the Character Report.
INCREASE IN ADMISSION WITHOUT EXAMINATION FEE:
In order to avoid the increase in fee, you must do the following:
- Complete and submit your online application no later than February 28, 2017.
- Send your printed application to the Virginia Board of Bar Examiners. Your completed application MUST be received no later than March 10, 2017.
The fee is non-refundable and must be in the form of a cashier's check, certified check, or money order made payable to the "Virginia Board of Bar Examiners."
Processing your Admission Without Examination application may take six (6) months from the date your complete application package is received by our office. Please remember that these applications are handled on a first-come, first-serve basis. Incomplete applications will not be processed until all required documents are received.